Gorillaz Spring A Leak Or Clever Marketing Ploy?

Gorillaz tracks from upcoming new album supposedly ‘leaked’

Look, don’t bullshit yourselves, we live in a world where pretty much everything you see and hear is manufactured to get your attention. In a world where so many things are fighting for that attention, no one is above a stunt to get it.

There’s a rumor going around that four new tracks have been ‘leaked’ online from the Gorillaz ‘soon’ to be released new album. When the term ‘leaked’ is used, it’s usually to infer that it was done without knowledge or consent. Was it? Will we ever really know and how important is it all in the grand scheme of things?

The leak comes after [supposedly] some hardcore fans managed to crack an (easily guessed) password to access a private video.

The dedicated punters on Reddit’s Gorilaz subreddit have used what are apparently leaked song titles from Gorillaz’s forthcoming fifth album to stumble across a private Vimeo link.

The video was supposedly opened by guessing the password was ‘2017’ (lol), and it contained a handful of what are supposedly new Gorillaz songs, including tracks featuring Danny Brown, Kelela, Grace Jones, Popcaan and D.R.A.M.

Vocals from frontman Damon Albarn can also be heard in multiple tracks, which you can find here.

While the original video and a bunch of re-uploaded copies have already been taken down, audio and images from the clip are popping up online, including what appears to be a stage setup featuring dummies and background visuals.

There are also rumors circulating that the band’s new album will be called Outsiderz, but this is still unconfirmed and the ‘supposed’ tracklist uncovered by HASTILEAKED shows the following songs make up the album – again, take it all with a grain of salt.

Andromeda (Feat. D.R.A.M.)
Ascension (Feat. Vince Staples)
Busted And Blue
Carnival (Feat. Anthony Hamilton)
Charger (Feat. Grace Jones)
Circle Of Friendz (Feat. Brandon Markell Holmes)
Halfway To The Halfway House (Feat. Peven Everett)
Hallelujah Money (Feat. Benjamin Clementine)
Interlude: Elevator Going Up
Interlude: New World
Interlude: Penthouse
Interlude: Talk Radio
Interlude: The Elephant
Interlude: The Non-conformist Oath
Intro: I Switched My Robot Off
Let Me Out (Feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T)
Momentz (Feat. De La Soul)
Out Of Body (Feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Voshana)
Saturnz Barz (Feat. Popcaan)
Sex Murder Party (Feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz)
She’s My Collar (Feat. Kali Uchis)
Strobelite (Feat. Peven Everett)
Submission (Feat. Danny Brown & Kelela)
The Apprentice (Feat. Rag’n’bone Man, Zebra Katz & Ray BLK)
Ticker Tape (Feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis)
We Got The Power (Feat. Jehnny Beth)

The only song from the animated band’s upcoming album which has been officially released is ‘Hallelujah Money’ featuring Benjamin Clementine, which arrived in January which you can check out below.

Gorillaz are set to return to the live stage as part of their own music festival, Demon Dayz, this June.

Source: Musicfeeds

Join the Discussion

No Comments

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.